Home - China Panorama - China General

China General

China, officially known as the People's Republic of China is a vast country in eastern Asia on the western shore of the Pacific Ocean, with an area of 9.6 million square kilometers. China's continental coastline extends for about 18,000 kilometers, and its vast sea surface is studded with more than 5,000 islands, of which Taiwan and Hainan are the largest. As the word's most populous country, China has a population exceeding 1.3 billion, which makes up 22 percent of the world total. To bring population growth under control, the country has followed a family planning policy since the 1980. China's land drops off in escarpments eastward to the ocean, letting in humid air current and leading many rivers eastward.
China has beautiful scenery, with mountains and ranges, highlands, plains, basins, and hills. The highlands and hill regions account for 65 percent of the country's total area, and there are more than 2,000 lakes. The highest mountain peak is Everest, the highest in the world, 8,848 meters above sea level; the lowest point is the Turpan Basin, 154 meters below sea level. Among the rivers totaling 220,000 kilometers in length in China, the Yangtze River is world known. China abounds in natural resources. Art in China is also stunningly unique. The People's Republic of China was founded on October 1,1949. Today, China is implementing reform and opening-up policies, and has established socialist market economy.
China Facts:
Full Name: The People's Republic of China
Area: 9.6 million square kilometers
Population: 1.3 billion (2004)
Capital City: Beijing
National Flag: Five Stars Red-Flag
People: Han Chinese (93.3%), plus 55 Ethnic Groups.
Location: east of Asia, west of Pacific Ocean
Climate: Continental Monsoon Climate (Tibet: vertical climate)
Official Language: Mandarin Chinese
Religions: Buddhism, Taoism, Islam, Catholicism and Protestantism.
Currency RMB (Yuan)
Head of State: Hu Jintao
The Supreme Legislative: The National People's Congress
National Day: October 1st
Administrative Demarcations: 23 Provinces, 5 Autonomous Regions, 4 Municipalities, 2 Special Administrative Regions

My Questions *We welcome and appreciate your questions & reviews